Sometimes Rules Need To Be Broken


We have just seen in the new year here in the UK. As I type this its 00.15 on the 1.1.19 everyone is celebrating all over the country wishing everyone Wealth, Health and Happiness.

My mum being Scottish New Years Eve was always the most important night in the year. She loved it. A as child I had lovely memories of her partying on NYE. New Years Day would be like another Christmas Day with another big dinner on the table.

Sadly this isn’t the case for some. People in ill health, people in hospital or hospices, others going through abuse in the home. Spare a thought for those that are not celebrating tonight.

NYE always bring me back to my mum being very poorly in hospital after having major surgery. I had to travel a 100 miles to see her and did this a couple of times a week.

We went to visit her during the day on NYE and I asked a nurse if my dad and I could come back that evening around 11.50 to sit with her to see the New Year in together. I explained the importance of what it meant to my mum. The nurse refused without given it a second thought. I know it was the rules, but would it have really hurt if we had come back. Mum was in a little bay to herself so we knew we wouldn’t disturb anyone else. All we wanted was 15 minutes sitting with mum. But she wasn’t going to allow it to happen. How I regret that I didn’t push it any further.

So, my mum was on her own for her first NYE. No one with her.

She died the following day.

I still feel angry with myself for not pushing it further, maybe asking someone else and hoping for a different answer. And I still feel angry with that nurse. Could she not have broken the rules just that once. I know if I were in her shoes I would have tried in someway of allowing this to happen. I felt that the nurse lacked empathy.

Seeing with the eyes of another

Listening with the ears of another

And feeling with the heart of another.

If you are ever in doubt and you inner self tells you its the right thing they try your hardest to get it done. Rules sometimes can be broken to make people happy.

Leave a comment