Can I Help? I’m a Doctor #RoadTrafficAccident #999


images

Coming home after a few days visiting family we noticed black smoke in the distance. As we came off the roundabout and entered a small country road the traffic abruptly came to a standstill – the black billowing smoke an indication that there was something going on ahead.

Everyone sat in their cars like us wondering what was happening ahead. It was a hot day and people started getting out of their cars to see if they could see what was ahead – there was no traffic coming the other way.

After a few minutes a car came in the opposite direction, he stopped the car and ran over to a few of us chatting informing us that we might like to turn back as there was a serious traffic accident up above and the road would more than likely be closed for some time. He said that group of people had to rescue a man from a burning car and he appeared to be in a serious condition. The mood changed, everyone stopped moaning about the hold up and the heat of the day and immediately wanted to know what they could do to help. The man in the car was on the phone to the emergency services and asked if I had a fire extinguisher,  we didn’t so I immediately went from car to car to see if anyone had one while another woman ran to the back of the traffic telling them to turn around as there was no way through. Everyone had a job to do and wanted to help.

No one in the cars in front of us had an extinguisher. I went to the car directly behind ours. A woman got out of the passenger seat – I  she was foreign but spoke perfect English. I asked her if she had an extinguisher – like the other cars but she didn’t.

She asked what the problem was ahead, I explained about the accident, she then asked me a couple of questions that gave me the impression that she had some medical knowledge. I asked her if she was medically qualified – she abruptly replied no.

She got back into the car and put on her seat belt in a calm manner, and before she could tell the drive who I presumed was her partner/husband what had happened he had wound down his window and asked me what was going on ahead. I told him that there was a serious crash ahead and they had to get someone out of the car. He immediately told me that he was a Doctor and he would go to see if there was anything he could do until the emergency services got there.

His wife entered into a conversation with him, I didn’t understand the language but from her body language and tone of voice it was obvious she didn’t want him to go – an argument went on between them for a brief few moments before he got his jacket and begun running up the road towards the accident. Judging by her face and body language she was not one bit happy that he had done that.

The emergency services were on their way, the doctor on scene and people who had perhaps saved a mans life helping in every way they could.

I was haunted by the attitude of the woman; why didn’t she want her husband to get involved? Had that been my husband I would have only been too proud that he might have made a difference in the life of death of the poor man lying in the road.

I tried all week to find out about the accident and hopefully hear that the man was ok. I finally found out that it was a very serious head on collision between two cars. Three people were involved one seriously ill woman. So the man they dragged out of the car did survive – and who knows that might have been down to the fact that the doctor went up to help – who knows! But everyone worked together as a team and did as little or as much as they could have done and that must have made all the difference.

Sadly all except for one woman in my opinion.

 

© 2011-2017 Reception Training all rights reserved
Leave a Reply

