How do you give out repeat prescriptions at your Surgery?


Do you keep your repeat prescriptions in a secure box? Are they kept near to the reception desk for easy access to give to patients when they are collecting them? Do you lock or secure your repeat prescription box  during the lunchtime and at night? If not you should.

There have been occasions  (not many I am pleased to say) where the prescription box was kept in easy reach of the reception desk and they have been snatched – so always ensure that the box is kept a good distance from the desk to avoid this from happening.

Do you give our prescriptions to people other than the patient? Of course you do – prescriptions are collected for patients by family members, neighbours or carers. In today’s society people work or might be housebound and often cannot get into collect their own prescription – so we all accept that people other than the patient will come in to collect a prescription.

We all like to make things easier for our patients – after all that is what we are there for – we get to know our patients and will often go out of our way to help in any way we can. But sometimes you might think you are doing the right thing – but perhaps you are not – you need to stop and thing before you maybe “offer” that extra help.

Here are two true stories that actually happened to me when I was a Receptionist. On both occasions I thought I was doing the right thing. I thought I was being helpful when in fact I wasn’t – it actually could have backfired and cause a problem. Let me share them with you.

True Story  1

Mrs Joan Morgan came into the Surgery one morning to collect her normal repeat prescription. I went to the box to get the prescription and seen that her daughter Miss Catherine Morgan’s prescription was there too waiting to be collected. Mrs Morgan did not ask for her daughter’s prescription, but had in the past collected a prescription for her as did her daughter for her.

 I knew that Mrs Morgan and her daughter had a good relationship and lived together and they were often in the surgery at the same time. So I had no hesitation is asking her did she want to take Catherine’s prescription at the same time. She said she would.

I gave her the two prescriptions – she looked at the prescription and with a gasp she looked at me and said “I didn’t know Catherine was taking the birth pill”. I realised then that Catherine had not asked her mum to collect her prescription for a reason – the reason being she did not want her mum knowing she was on the birth pill. I realised I had actually broken patient confidentiality. I spoke to my Reception Supervisor and she advised me to telephone Catherine to explain what I had done. Thankfully Catherine was extremely good about it and said that she would speak to her mother when she got home.

It is times like this when you have a good relationship with the patients that you are able to telephone them, explain what has happened and they will understand that you were only trying your best.  I found that by having a good relationship patients they are far more understanding. They know that you are trying to help. You will also find there will be fewer complaints.

True Story 2

Mr Joe Allan came in again one morning asking for his repeat prescription. I went to the box and seen that his son Ben Allan’s repeat prescription was there too.  Aware of what had happened before I checked Ben’s prescription – it was for his asthma inhaler – and again his dad had often picked up this prescription for him. So I thought this time I would be safe – there was nothing confidential on there so I asked Joe if he wanted to take Ben’s prescription as well. He said he would.

Then at 12.55 (five minutes before we closed for lunch) Ben came flying into reception. He asked for his repeat prescription for his inhaler – he had run out and was feeling a bit poorly and needed it. My heart sank – there was no Doctor on the premises as they were away doing their home visits. Ben explained that he was come up to the surgery in his lunch hour and would not have time to go home to get his prescription from his dad.

Luckily enough we had a very good understanding with the chemist across the road from the Surgery and I telephoned them and they said that they would issue Ben with an inhaler as he was a regular customer there and had his records, but on the understanding that he or his dad dropped his original prescription in to them the following day.

Ben dashed over to collect his inhaler

So there are two different examples where I thought I was helping a patient but in fact it led to them having problems because of it.

So from then on in – unless someone  specifically asked for someone’s prescription it stayed well and truly in the box until it was requested.

Leave a Reply

